Cold – Superfiction Review

Cold is a band that has been around since the late 90’s. They were founded by Fred Durst of Limp Bizkit and boomed from there. Cold has the musical styles to the likeness of Staind, what with the post grunge vibe with depressing lyrics. They still manage to rock hard though (from what I have heard). Their biggest success was Year of the Spider in 2003 which brought the catchy single Stupid Girl to the radio. Soon after their next album (A Different Kind of Pain), in 2006, Cold disbanded.

Well, in early 2009, Cold reunited to do a long awaited reunion tour. Pleased with how the tour went and how the band felt together, they opted on going back into the studio to bring the fans a “final” album. Whether it is unsure if this is the final album, or just a new beginning, Cold‘s first album in 6 years is titled Superfiction.

The opening track is the lead single, Wicked World. It is everything you expect from these guys if you have listened to their previous work. For me, I only have one reference album to listen to (Year of the Spider). Wicked world has the same grunge vibe as that album did. That song is followed by another strong one, What Happens Now. On par with the previous track, Scooter Ward delivers a great vocal performance in the catchy chorus.

It seems after the first two tracks, they start leaning towards the new direction of the band which comes off as a little more tame and happier than previous work. I can understand the new direction though. They disbanded because of conflicts within the band and they had been touring nonstop. They had a chance to take time for their families and grow some maturity.

The rest of the album retains its catchiness as it leans towards a lighter rock approach. American Dream is a good example of that. With the different instrumental style, Scooter’s voice seems to have changed as well. He goes from his low mumbles to a higher more prominent vocal delivery. He honestly sounds like a different person.

The instrumentation is solid. Everything flows together very well. The album is seamless, nothing feels too rushed or slowed. Cold has switched through so many guitarists through their days, and their current ones (Zach Gilbert and Drew Molleur) do justice. I do enjoy the whammy pedal guitar riff in The Crossroads. Jeremy Marshall on bass drives the album. It isn’t a Cold album without a strong baseline throughout and Jeremy kills it. We wrap up the rest of the band with Sam McCandless on drums. Sam’s chops are as solid as his muttonchops. He doesn’t miss a beat. He helps carry the slower songs as he works well with Jeremy.

The production seems top notch. Everything is glued together nicely and producers Jeremy Parker and Kato Khandwala seemed to have gotten the best performance out of the band. The vocal arrangement and processing on The Break is very good. Dealing with tempo-dependent delays and the perfect mix of reverb. I can’t complain!

Overall, I would say that Cold has stepped out of their box to bring you Superfiction. In a recent interview with Scooter Ward (thanks to Guitar World), he talks about the new direction of the band:

I think it’s a whole new beginning. I think this is a new spark for Cold. There was never any intention of doing just this record and then calling it quits. This is what we love, this is what we do, and I think we’re obligated to our fans and to ourselves to keep producing music.

Superfiction displays the bands new beginning with a more uplifting vibe, rather than the depressed tones of previous albums. It’s nice to see Cold‘s motive change, but I do say I will miss the creepiness and, well, “cold” feel of their older work. I personally found myself a little bored with the album, as I went in expecting something as great as YotS. Nonetheless it was produced well and there are a few songs worth listening to.

Superfiction – 7/10

Track Listing:

1. Wicked World
2. What Happens Now
3. American Dream
4. The Break
5. Welcome2MyWorld
6. Emily
7. The Crossroads
8. Delivering The Saint
9. So Long June
10. The Park
11. Flight of the Superstar
12. Ballad of the Nameless

Favorite Song: Wicked World

Superfiction is currently available in stores via Eleven Seven Music.

Related Posts