2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominations Announced

It’s true, most people look forward to the prestigious and glamorous Golden Globe Awards or the Oscars. Yes, those are great and all but the one award show I look forward to every single year is the Film Independent Spirit Awards. To those who aren’t familiar with this particular awards show, let me tell you first and foremost that you’ve been missing out. It’s an awards show that allows itself to be a little bit more vulgar, entertaining, and downright fun to watch even if your preferred choice doesn’t win. Most importantly, it’s an award show that emphasizes the importance and artistry of independent cinema that usually gets overlooked by the mainstream. The nominations for the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards have been announced earlier today.

Two potential Oscar nominees, David O. Russell’s Silver Linings Playbook and Wes Anderson’s Moonrise Kingdom each earned a total of five nominations. With Harvey Weinstein backing the film, Silver Linings Playbook shouldn’t encounter a bumpy road on its way to the Oscars. Moonrise Kingdom won the best feature award last night at the Gotham Awards so that, along with the five nominations, should perk some Academy interest. Benh Zeitlin’s Beasts of the Southern Wild garnered a total of four nominations including Best Feature (which is no surprise, considering the buzz).

I would be lying if I said that I’m not disappointed that Smashed, Perks of Being a Wallflower, Your Sister’s Sister, The Sessions, and Celeste & Jesse Forever didn’t earn more nominations than they did. I’m still thrilled that Mary Elizabeth Winstead and John Hawkes were both nominated for their incredible performances. Hopefully their nominations and the progressively growing buzz surrounding their performances will pick up some steam before the Academy Award nominations are announced early next year.

Below is a COMPLETE list of the 2013 Film Independent Spirit Award Nominees:


Best Feature

“Beasts Of The Southern Wild”


“Keep The Lights On”

“Moonrise Kingdom”

“Silver Linings Playbook”


Best Director

Wes Anderson – “Moonrise Kingdom”

Julia Loktev – “The Loneliest Planet”

David O Russell – “Silver Linings Playbook”

Ira Sachs – “Keep The Lights On”

Benh Zeitlin – “Beasts of the Southern Wild”


Best First Feature

“Fill The Void”

“Gimme The Loot”

“Safety Not Guaranteed”

“Sound Of My Voice”

“The Perks Of Being A Wallflower”


John Cassavetes Award

“Breakfast With Curtis”

“The Color Wheel”

“Middle Of Nowhere”

“Mosquita y Mari”



Best Male Lead

Jack Black – “Bernie”

Bradley Cooper – “Silver Linings Playbook”

John Hawkes – “The Sessions”

Thure Lindhart – “Keep The Lights On”

Matthew McConaughey – “Killer Joe”

Wendell Pierce – “Four”


Best Female Lead

Linda Cardenelli – “Return”

Emayatzy Corinealdi – “Middle Of Nowhere”

Jennifer Lawrence – “Silver Linings Playbook”

Quvenzhane Wallis – “Beasts Of The Southern Wild”

Mary Elizabeth Winstead – “Smashed”


Best Supporting Male

Matthew McConaughey – “Magic Mike”

David Oyelowo – “Middle Of Nowhere”

Michael Pena – “End Of Watch”

Sam Rockwell – “Seven Psychopaths”

Bruce Willis – “Moonrise Kingdom”


Best Supporting Female

Rosemarie DeWitt – “Your Sister’s Sister”

Ann Dowd – “Compliance”

Helen Hunt – “The Sessions”

Brit Marling – “Sound Of My Voice”

Lorraine Toussaint – “MIddle Of Nowhere”


Best Screenplay

Wes Anderson – “Moonrise Kingdom”

Zoe Kazan – “Ruby Sparks”

Martin McDonagh – “Seven Psychopaths”

David O Russell – “Silver Linings Playbook”

Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias – “Keep The Lights On”


Best First Screenplay

Rama Burshtein – “Fill The Void”

Derek Connolly – “Safety Not Guaranteed”

Christopher Ford – “Robot & Frank

Rashida Jones & Will McCormack – “Celeste & Jesse Forever

Jonathan Lisecki – “Gayby”


Best International Feature


“Once Upon A TIme In Anatolia”

“Rust & Bone”


“War Witch”


Best Documentary

“The Central Park Five”

“How To Survive A Plague”

“The Invisible War”

“Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present”

“The Waiting Room”


Best Cinematography

“Beasts Of The Southern Wild”

“End Of Watch”


“Moonrise Kingdom”

“Valley Of The Saints”


Piaget Producers Award

Mynette Louie – “Stones In The Sun”

Derrick Tseng – “Prince Avalanche”

Alicia Van Couvering – “Nobody Walks”


Someone To Watch Award

David Fenster – “Pincus”

Adam Leon – “Gimme The Loot”

Rebecca Thomas – “Electrick Children”


Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award

Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Pravel – “Leviathan”

Peter Nicks – “The Waiting Room”

Jasonyyyee Tippet and Elizabeth Mimms – “Only The Young”


Robert Altman Award



The Film Independent Spirit Awards will be taking place on Feburary 23rd, 2013.  Let us know who you want to win in the comment section below!

Related Posts